Inspiration & Motivation

wardrobe_rack

Photo Credit: http://bl0nde.com/

 

New York Fashion Week in September is one of the most highly anticipated events in the fashion industry. As Andy Williams stated in his popular Christmas song, “It’s the most wonderful time of the year!” And with all the excitement surrounding it (especially my own), I decided that I would share why I chose to pursue a career in the fashion industry…

Growing up, I was always writing something down. After a while, I started to put sentences together and make up stories, so I guess you can say that writing is my God-given talent. Yet as time went on, I fell in love with music and wanted nothing more than to do it for the rest of my life. But a year after I graduated high school, I did my very first fashion show and became obsessed with anything pertaining to that world.

The 8th Annual Style Experience - March 18, 2012

The 8th Annual Style Experience – March 18, 2012

It was the rush of walking down the catwalk with everyone’s eyes on me that pulled me in, but what I experienced on March 18, 2012 is what solidified it for me. I was apart of the 8th Annual Style Experience, which was an amazing production constructed by the wonderful Perry Varner. This particular show was the biggest I had ever done, and I had the opportunity to work behind the scenes and witness a side of the action that I had never seen. When you’re in a fashion show, you know about all the crazy things that go on backstage, but there is a different between “werking it” and working it. I was able to actually communicate with the designers involved, help them set up, and doing anything Mr. Varner needed me to do.

Perry Varner - Fashion Designer & Author of

Perry Varner – Fashion Designer & Author of “The Perfect Pair”
Photo Credit: Sydney A Foster

Yet although I had decided what field I wanted to work in, I hadn’t made up my mind on my exact career. Then one day, it finally hit me — I wanted to be a wardrobe stylist. I realized that from helping my mom piece together outfits to helping customers do the same in the 6 years I did retail, I had been dressing people all my life! And from that moment on, I soaked up any information on fashion I could find, whether relevant to styling or not. I also did research on everything about styling and what I needed to do to gain experience so that I can finally do what I love.

My Inspiration: Victoria Sanders Photo Credit: Emiliano Styles

My Inspiration: Victoria Sanders
Photo Credit: Emiliano Styles

So far, my main inspiration has been my great friend, Victoria Sanders. I came across her on Facebook in the “People You May Know” section, and as I flipped through her pictures, I realized that she had the dopest style and understood me creatively. So, I sent her a friend request and I’m so appreciative that I was blessed with the opportunity to get to know her because she is just as beautiful on the inside as she is out. Also, she is extremely talented and has worked with celebrities such as Jason DeRulo, Big Sean, Kate Beckinsale, and countless others. She has numerous movies, music videos, fashion magazines, and award shows under her belt, and just recently hosted an “Intro to Styling E-Course” where she shares information from her personal experience.

I am blessed to have come across all the magnificent people that have encouraged me to follow my heart and not conform to societry. So with that being said, I am excited to pursue my dream and ready for whatever it will bring me.ย  Yet since I am just starting out, the journey thus far has been a bit of a rough one, but I know and believe that everything will come together in due time. Until then…

Peace, Love, Blessings, & Hugs

Freddie G.

Leave a Reply

