Lights…Camera…Fashion!!!!

victoria1

Photo Credit: @thevicstyles

About 5 or 6 years ago, I came across Victoria Sanders on Facebook in the “People You May Know” section. After stalking her through her profile pictures, I decided to send her a friend request and it was one of the best decisions of my life.

As far as initial contact goes, I can’t remember if it took place on Facebook or Twitter (though it was probably the latter). Yet from what I could gather on Facebook, on August 28, 2011, she gave me one of the greatest gifts she has given me thus far – a chance to interview her for my blog! It was my first time interviewing anyone, and I think her first time being interviewed. We were both so nervous that we didn’t do it on the phone as planned, but through Facebook chat. (If it is still available, you can check the article out HERE)

Ever since then, I have remained in contact with her and have watched her blossom, just as much as her career has. As a wardrobe stylist, she’s had the opportunity to work with celebrities such as Big Sean, Mila Kunis, and Kate Beckinsale (to name a few), even Nickelodeon and Lifetime. Also, she recently launched the #BrakeTheSilence campaign, which focuses on rape and sexual assault victims. She even opened up about her experience with rape during her time as a student at FAMU, and uses it as encouragement for others to BRAKE the silence.

vic

Photo Credit: @trokonVHill

These are only a few of the things that make this woman the wonderful person she is and why she is one of the many women I honor for Women’s History Month. Remember, in order to appreciate a woman’s history, you must first know HER story…

victoria3

Photo Credit: @bwbanksphotography

Leave a Reply

