Guts Over Fear (Pt. 2)

For the longest, I have heard a quote from Ellen Johnson Sirleaf that states, “If your dreams do not scare you, they are not big enough”. And when I first heard that, I thought, “How could anyone be scared to go after their dreams?” I felt that if you knew what you wanted out of life, fear should have no place in your heart because passion would fill it instead. Yet that was my thought process until I experienced that fear and now my outlook has completely changed.

Now for those of you that don’t know, I want to be a fashion stylist. After I realized what career I was going to pursue in the fashion industry, I was more calm than fearful because I had finally figured out what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. Yet there ended up being numerous things about my dreams that scared me. But if I had to pick one, I would say that failure (brought on by self-doubt and comparison) was the biggest of them all.

I allowed my mind to get the best of me and started to think, “What if I do this and fail? What if I’m not good enough?” But when that thought left my mind, another filled its place and I thought, “I’m nothing like Keicia, Victoria, or Ryan – and I haven’t been in fashion as long as they have – so who’s going to actually listen to me and let me dress them?”

L to R: Keicia, Victoria, & Ryan

Yet when I realized I was standing in my own way, I decided that I’m going to do it, anyway. I don’t know what’s going to happen, but I’m more excited than ever to take this journey, so wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

